Kami Rita Sherpa 2nd Ascents of this Season 12 Years of Service

Buddha Jayanti

Posted in: 30th Apr, 2018 Post Category: Blog Blog of Bhutan

Buddha Jayanti is a special day for both Hindus and Buddhists in Nepal. On this day people celebrate the life of Lord Buddha; his Birth, Enlightenment and Mahaparinirvana (Death).

Birth and birth place of Lord Buddha

Budhha’s original name was Sidhartha Gautam. Siddhartha Gautam was born about 543 BC in Kapilvastu of Nepal. He was son of King Suddhodhan Gautam and queen Maya Devi. Buddha was born in garden of Sal trees (Shorea robusta), situated in the beautiful and peaceful Lumbini zone in Rupandehi district of Nepal.

UNESCO has listed Lumbini, Nepal as a world heritage site and birthplace of Gautama Buddha.

Buddha was born on full moon day, he achieved nirvana in the same day and left this world on the same day of Baishakh Sukla Purnima. This day is celebrated as Budhha Purnima all over the world.
Buddha means “Awakened One”.  Gautam Buddha is also known as Shakyamuni.

When is Buddha Purnima ?

This year Buddha Purnima is on Baishak 21, 2072, which is May 14, 2015 in English calendar.  This year Lord Buddha becomes 2556 years old.
 Buddha left his physical body at the age of 80. There he attained “Pari Nirvana”. Nirvana is beyond life and death.

Buddha’s Four Noble Truths

Buddha understood these Four Noble Truths
1. Life means suffering : There is Suffering, and it is common to all, no one can escape it.
2. The origin of suffering is attachment : Cause of Suffering is we ourselves. Apart from those suffering which are natural, Buddha explains the main cause of suffering is the greed and lust. The physical attachment is very dangerous. One creates suffering from his/her own greed. One wants more that what s/he deserves and grow grief of losing them.
3. The cessation of suffering is attainable : To end the suffering, one has to stop doing what causes suffering
4. The path to the cessation of suffering  : Narvana is the end the suffering: enlightenment is the way: Buddha suggested The Noble Eightfold Path to end suffering and live fulfilled life.
End of suffering: The only way to get rid of suffering is to live satisfied with what one has. Don’t collect unnecessary materials. Collecting unnecessary things are collecting grieves and sorrow for future. The state of end of suffering is called Nirvana. Nirvana is to reach beyond life and death.

The Noble Eightfold Path

Gautam Buddha described ‘The Noble Eightfold Path’: the way to the end of suffering.
It is a practical guideline to ethical and mental development with the goal of freeing the individual from attachments and delusions. Finally it leads to understanding the truth about life and reality. The eight aspects of the path are highly interdependent principles and are closely interrelated with each other.
1. Right View 5. Right Livelihood
 2. Right Intention 6. Right Effort
3. Right Speech 7. Right Mindfulness
4. Right Action 8. Right Concentration

Related Items

Happy Clients

Community Service - Khumbu Nangpala Trekking and Expedition

Community Service

Khumbu Nangpala works with the motto “Breaking Down Barriers”. Keeping in line with this, Khumbu Nangpala Community Service Project (KNCSP)...

Read More